2014 Scholarship Winners

The 2014 recipients of the Jim Davies Scholarship were announced at the Epilepsy Foundation of Greater Chicago’s June Board of Directors Meeting. This scholarship is awarded annually in the amount of $1,000 to individuals with epilepsy who will be incoming freshmen to a college or vocational/technical school and will be a full-time student for the 2014/2015 academic school year. Congratulations to the following students for their strong commitment to their education and perseverance in overcoming the obstacles epilepsy may present:

Tara Alfano

University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ

Minor in Sports Management

Courtney Kosiewicz


Moraine Valley Community College
Palos Hills, IL


 John Patterson*


 Erika Peterson

Azusa Pacific University
Azusa, California

Music Education, Music therapy or ethnomusicology

 Haley Rae Ross

Harding University
Searcy, Arkansas

Communication Disorders
Minor in Medical Missions

 Joseph Schmitt 

North Central College
Naperville, IL

Finance and Economics

Nathaniel Su

Rochester Institute of Technology
Rochester, NY

Game Design and Development 


Read all about Jim Davies here.


The 2014 recipients of the Berner Scholarship for Students with Epilepsy were also announced at the Epilepsy Foundation of Greater Chicago’s June Board of Directors Meeting.  This scholarship is awarded to incoming freshmen or current attendees at an undergraduate college for the 2014/2015 academic school year with a diagnosis of epilepsy who reside in Illinois. This is a $10,000 award, of which $5,000 is a grant and $5,000 is an interest free loan that must be paid back within seven years of leaving undergraduate school. Congratulations to these hard working individuals as well:

Jude Mariutto

 From Crystal Lake

John Patterson*

From Springfield, IL

 Matthew Picinich

From Elburn, IL


Photos can be found by clicking here.

This entry was posted in Home-News, Press Room. Bookmark the permalink. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.